Friday, November 4, 2011

All India Postal Athletic Meet concludes

Dear Comrades,
Srinagar, Nov 3: The 26th All India Postal Athletic Meet concluded at Bakshi Stadium here on Wednesday.
The Stadium wore a festive look on the occasion. In awards distribution cum closing ceremony, Chief Postmaster General John Samuel distributed prizes among the winners.
The meet was inaugurated by Union Minister for New and Renewable Energy Dr. Farooq Abdullah, on October 31.
Champions Trophy was given to Gujarat Circle with 27 gold medals, 11 silver medals and seven bronze medals while Rajasthan Circle with 12 gold medals, six silver medals and five bronze medals was declared as runner up Circle. RS Rathwa of Gujarat Circle and Sneha of Rajasthan Circle were declared as the best men athlete and the best women athlete of the meet respectively.
183 athletes including 21 women from 14 states of the country and Army Postal Service competed for 32 different events in men and women categories.
The oldest athlete participating in the meet was Baldev Singh, aged 55 years of Punjab Circle who won a gold medal in 20 KMs walk and a silver medal in 10000 meters race.
All athletes and officials participating in the meet appreciated the spirit of Baldev Singh, who competed with high spirit and kept the track blazing with his performance. Performance of veteran athletes namely Shally George (Kerala), Dharam Singh (UP), Shri Naksheter Singh (Rajasthan), Sneha Jain, Asian Games Medalist (Rajasthan), Tiloo Gogoi (Assam) was highly appreciated and all of them including Baldev Singh (Punajb) were presented mementos by the chief guest.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...